Skip to content

Meet Uber Bunny (or, the rest of the story)…

So some of you may remember my little teaser post a week ago where I alluded to a second half of the story involving a certain bunny on “high alert.” So now, here is the rest of the story. I noticed my little bunny friend in my front yard the other morning and at the same time, I noted that there were two or three large crows gathering around. They piqued my attention, so I paused at my front door to observe. The crows were walking around, circling the bunny, who was eyeing them steadily, as you can see in this first shot.

 

Then, here is where it gets interesting. After eyeing the crow and the crow circling a couple of times, out of the BLUE, the bunny turns into “Avenger Bunny” and attacks (yes, I truly mean attacks) the large bird. As startled as I was, I managed to capture this action in this shot below. Over the course of the next two hours, the mama bunny repeated this defensive action multiple times–chasing the crows around the yard, and leaping at them to scare them away. See below!

 

The bunny launched out at the crows time and time again until eventually they tired and flew away… only to return three to four times that morning–each time receiving the same treatment from Avenger Bunny. I surmised (rightly so, I later saw) that they bunny was protecting a burrow nearby and we’ve since seen baby bunnies around the yard. I had just never witnessed such aggressive behavior in what is assumed to be such a mild-mannered creature (insert Monty Python joke 🙂 ) So now that you get the full picture, I’ll leave you with a couple of other images from my little version of Wild Kingdom. They may not be award-winning, but are pretty interesting nonetheless. Hope you enjoy….

Chasing the crows…Go bunny!

The standoff…

Another frontal attack…

 

And finally… time to rest. WHEW. 

I have to say, it was a pretty entertaining morning. Stay tuned here for more episodes of Avenger Bunny  (haha)! Just goes to show, you never know what you’ll see if you just stop and pay attention. More later!

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Joan #

    That’s one tough bunny

    May 14, 2012
  2. oolung #

    Duracell Bunny

    May 18, 2012
  3. LOL… hadn’t thought of that one. 🙂

    May 18, 2012
  4. Go Mama Bunny!

    May 26, 2012

Leave a Reply

