Skip to content

Shrooms with a view…

OK, a bad pun is probably not a great way to begin, but let’s just say, some days are Whitman and Thoreau, and some days are… I don’t know… Monty Python. From the sublime to the ridiculous, as they say. Anyway, it’s nearing the end of a long, hard week, and I am ready for some levity. So why spotlight this image? This particular vegetative subject was one of a half-dozen fungi that literally sprung up overnight in my yard after a long-awaited rain shower brought them to life. Their jaunty white caps were such a brilliant contrast to the deep green grass that they beckoned to me like a siren, and I decided, before settling down to a day’s work in front of the computer, to steal a few minutes in the early morning light and see if I could manage a composition that captured them in some unique way. I gathered my equipment quickly, knowing I’d only have limited time when the sparkling dew would add the perfect element to my images. Unfortunately, these particular fungi were positioned smack in the middle of my smallish front yard… so the sight of me on my knees peering through a 75-300 mm tripod-mounted macro looking at, ahem, a garden variety mushroom, or, even worse, the view of me in prone position smack in the morning dew trying artfully to focus through blades of fescue, must have been hilarious to all the morning commuters in my neighborhood. Oh well… all great artists have suffered for their work, right?

In all seriousness, upon later examination, I really like the patterns I managed to capture in the image above–the almost-abstract, yet purposeful way they bend and bloom around the cap. The sparkling dew conjures the freshness of that time of day that only lasts but briefly each morning. Another, more traditional view is below. I like both photographs, as well as the memory of how they were achieved. A bit of laughter is always good, and photography offers a past-time that brings happiness in so many forms. Hope you enjoy…

photo 1: f/4.5, 1/800th sec., ISO 100, 130
photo2: f/11, 1/125th sec., ISO 100, 210 mm

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Amazing. Thank you, with my love, nia

    November 17, 2011

Leave a Reply

