Skip to content

Serendipity…


f/7.1, 1/125 sec, ISO 400, 300 mm

One my favorite photographic pastimes is to simply sit quietly and observe the extraordinary world around me. The tiniest, most mundane details can often spring to life out of nowhere, revealing a world that many of us routinely ignore (myself included), in the bustle of daily life. I therefore practice being observant; in fact, it’s become second nature, and sometimes, it pays off. Like today. We have a rabbit hutch with two sweet, domestic bunnies near our back patio and I generally keep a close eye on them anytime I am glancing out our backyard window during the day. Today, I caught a glimpse of a scuttling motion inside the hutch–scuttling that was, even out of the corner of my eye–most definitely un-bunnylike. I looked more closely and saw there was, indeed, an intruder in the bunny abode. A cute little squirrel, happily helping himself to the bunnies’ pet-store kibble. In the split second that followed (“Aww, cute squirrel… Oh gee whiz, where’s camera!?), I centered my lens, focused, and with one cursory glance for settings, snapped away.

The result was four or five pretty nice squirrel “portraits,” shot before he opted to scurry back into the woods from whence he came. Made me happy to have kept my eyes open, and my camera mounted, loaded, and ready to roll for just such a serendipitous moment. Hope you enjoy… more later…


f/8, 1/125 sec, ISO 400, 300 mm


Good-bye!

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Julie Lampley #

    These are great. They made me smile. He’s so cute and the way its shot I feel like he’s high up somewhere looking down on all the other poor squirrels.

    May 5, 2011
  2. Thanks… it was a lot of fun to capture him!

    May 5, 2011
  3. Great captures. I love the last one of just his tail!

    May 5, 2011

Leave a Reply

