Skip to content

Leaf lines…

I am always fascinated when I take a closer look at nature. Things that look so ordinary from the normal human perspective truly come to life in a unique way when you examine them up close. Anyone who has seen the extraordinary photographs of colorful microscopic fractiles has seen how far this type of geometric symmetry can go… it’s almost beyond comprehension. In my day-to-day shooting, one of the exercises I continually require of myself is to take a step outside — sometimes just feet from my house– and seek out such beauty. These leaves are one example… I love the way the lines curve so gracefully, arcing and embracing each other. I’m also drawn to the tiny veins that come to life, reminding us how amazing the natural world is at creating and sustaining life, season after season.

f/16, 1/3 sec., ISO 100, 210 mm with macro extension tubes

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Cam #

    Very Georgia O’keefe….love it.

    April 30, 2011
  2. Merci! Her work is inspiring, indeed.

    May 2, 2011

Leave a Reply

