Skip to content

Rocky tops…

Canyon vertical b/w

Layers and layers of rock…this upward view of the canyon as we ascended in our helicopter resembles more of a mountain range, like El Capitan, rather than a large fissure in the ground. I employed the b/w treatment to bring out the delicate tonal layers, as well as to help define the sheer elegance of the rock cliffs. From my vantage point, these steep heights look fairly unscalable…not that I’d ever hazard to try! I’d much prefer to attempt to capture its image, than to conquer its summit.

f/9, 1/320th, ISO 400, 70 mm

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Cam #

    Love it, but then, I’m a sucker for anything b/w.

    April 24, 2011
    • Thanks, me, too… I use it sparingly…. and only when I think it truly creates something new and magical. I felt this one did it justice. Glad you like it. 🙂

      April 25, 2011

Leave a Reply

