Skip to content

And then you turn around…

Floating lazily down the Colorado River, your eyes are continually drawn upward to the mile-high walls of multicolored shale, limestone and sandstone, contemplating the eons of time it has taken to carve out the channel on which you are traveling. As I stared to the left and right, shooting frame after frame of the beautiful cliffs, a companion tapped me and said, “Oh…turn around!” I did, and found this perfect symmetry of rock, sky, and water before me. I took it in, enjoying a moment of pure appreciation, before composing, and capturing, its stark, natural beauty.

f/14, 1/800 sec., ISO 400, 24 mm

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Great capture. I love the clouds!

    April 19, 2011
  2. Beautiful shot! I love the contrast in colors and terrain.

    April 20, 2011

Leave a Reply

