Skip to content

Falling and flying…

Whereas most of my photography is fairly close to home, often as close as my own backyard, occasionally I do travel, and when I do, I eagerly anticipate the chance and the challenge to visualize something fresh and new. On my family’s recent trip to the West Rim of the Grand Canyon, boy did I have a that opportunity. While we dipsy-doodled straight down into the canyon in a helicopter (hold onto your stomach), I managed to steady myself enough to make this shot–a sweeping view of the canyon’s grandeur from a bird’s eye view. Kudos for my husband for booking the tour, without which I’d never have the opportunity to capture this magnificent landscape from high above. The memory of the feeling of both falling and flying still takes my breath away.

f/11, 1/500 sec., ISO 400, 17 mm

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Julie Lampley #

    I love this shot. Only seeing it from the rim, this view from above highlights the depth of the layers in a way that is not possible from the rim. You need to start a book and display these and your Euro-trip.

    April 14, 2011
  2. Cam #

    Test comment

    April 19, 2011
  3. Cam #

    Great…it finally works with the test comment. Anyway, I love this shot. Great composition and detail. The detail is amazing…

    April 19, 2011
  4. Thanks, all. I am particularly pleased with this one, as well. Thanks for the comments–much appreciated!

    April 19, 2011

Leave a Reply

